Everything In Its Time

Oh lawdy lawd. I started this back on February 24th and never got past the title. Oops. Still, I remember what I was going to post about, and perhaps this is a better chance to go in depth about where my heart is right now than the other post.

By now all of you are probably aware that Ecclesiastes 3:11 is my all time favorite verse. At least, I hope so. For those of you who haven’t read my blog before, welcome, and now you know my favorite verse. If you aren’t familiar with the verse, it says, “He (God) has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

Wow wow wow. This verse will never get old to me. A perfect reminder of God’s perfect timing, and that His ways are infinitely better than mine. So, why did I start this post on February 24th? Because on February 21st I got a tattoo to permanently remind myself of this amazing truth, and on February 22nd I was shown how fickle I am. Did you know that you can still forget awesome truths like that even when they’re tattooed on your body when you get disappointed? Ouch.

So what happened on February 22nd? Well, God changed my plans. SURPRISE! Gosh, you all must be tired of reading about my never ending struggle to accept the fact that God’s plans are sometimes different from mine. Why do you read this stuff? The plan had been to intern at a hotel with international sites, so that I could (hopefully) get hired after my internship and (hopefully) develop a good enough relationship with the company that (hopefully) they would be willing to sponsor a visa for me to do an international internship with them right before I graduated. Well, things were starting to move that direction. I was placed at my number one internship site (we got to choose five sites and prioritize them), which I was especially pleased about because that site only accepts one intern per term. I was supposed to meet with the Assistant General Manager to square away the details of my internship, but was never able to track him down until after the hotel decided to withdraw from the internship program. After I had already been placed there. Only two weeks before I was supposed to start. Yeah, not a fun experience.

So I was thrown for a loop. And I’m still trying to figure out exactly what all the implications are, but I think part of it is this: God doesn’t want me back in Europe quite yet. Why, I’m not sure. I may never be. But I am still reminded that His timing is perfect, and His plan is so much better than mine (as I’ve seen time and time again).

If you could be praying for me, I’d really appreciate it. As someone who enjoys having a plan, I have a hard time letting go of it when God says that’s not the plan He has for me. Pray that I will be able to live, once again, with just enough light for the step I’m on.

If you could also be praying that I would be able to find a way to find and get involved with a church, or women’s small group I would really appreciate that. My schedule has been rather demanding for the past several months, and I’m missing that community.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

