It’s About The Heart

I’ll be honest, as I write this most of my motivation is pure irritation, but I really want to speak out of love. So I’m going to do my best to put those irritable feelings aside and say what’s on my mind. It might not go anywhere, but you’re used that by now, I’m sure.

This morning I saw something on Facebook that…well, it irked me…

Image

 

Hmm. Maybe I woke up too early. I dunno. But this got under my skin. To me, it feels like it has a, “she was asking for it” tone to it. The fact that while walking to work this morning (and wearing plain black pants and a non-revealing button up shirt) some man felt compelled to yell at me from across the street didn’t improve my mood. I had also just come across this article the night before, and I would encourage you to take the time to read it before finishing the rest of this post.

The heart of the matter is this: men and women both have responsibilities in this area. Women, respect the fact that men are more visual than women. Do not make your decisions when getting dressed in the morning out of fear or guilt, but just let that fact sit gently in your mind. Men, what someone else is wearing never excuses your actions. Charles Swindoll once said, “I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you…we are in charge of our attitudes.” The same is true of our actions, for men and women. 

As always, feedback is welcome.

Leave a Reply

